GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL BACKWARD CLASSES WELFARE DEPARTMENT WRITERS' BUILDINGS, KOLKATA-700001 WEBSITE: www.anagrasarkalyan.gov.in

NO.643-BCW /6S-27/2008

Kolkata, the 23rd February, 2010.

ORDER

Sub: Constitution of a District Level Screening Committee (DLSC) for screening the nomination for "RASTRIYA JANA JATIYA PURASKAR".

Ministry of Tribal Affairs has been implementing a scheme of "National Tribal Awards" (Rastriya Janajatiya Puraskar) in the 11th Plan period beginning from the year 2008-09. Recently the scheme has been revised by the Ministry. The award will be given in order to recognize the achievements of the successful scheduled Tribes in the fields of Sports, Education, Culture, Science, Technology, Entrepreneurship and Biodiversity conservation and any other outstanding contribution. The nature of awards will be as follows:-

1) 'National Award for the Best Janjatiya Achiever'

(in the fields of Sports, Education, Culture, Science, Technology, Entrepreneurship and Biodiversity Conservation and outstanding contribution in any other field)

-Number of awards in this category is two –one for Scheduled Tribes Male and another for Scheduled Tribes Female. Each award will carry a cash prize of Rs.2 lakh, a citation and a trophy.

2) 'National Award for Exemplary Community Service rendered to the Scheduled Tribes'

(in any field that has resulted the rapid and remarkable development of the ST to Individuals, Panchayati Raj Institutions, NGOs/Voluntary Organizations, Community Based Groups/Organizations)

-This award will carry a cash prize of Rs.5 lakh, a citation and a trophy.

3) 'National Award for the Best Performing ITDP/ITDA'

-This award will carry Rs.5 lakh cash prize, a citation and a trophy.

Nomination of a person or body for the above three awards should be recommended by a public official, well-known personality, etc. Self nomination will not be accepted. The last date for sending nominations to the Ministry of Tribal Affairs is 31st October every year.

For screening and short-listing the nominations it is necessary to form a District Level Screening Committee.

The District Level Screening Committee is hereby constituted with the following members:-

1	District Magistrate	Chairman
2	A Representative of Sabhadhipati, Zilla Parishad	Member
3	P.Ocum-D.W.O.,BCW/D.W.O.,BCW	Member Secretary
4	District Information & Cultural Officer	Member
5	District Youth Officer	Member
6	A representative from reputed N.G.O. to be nominated by the Chairman	Member
7	District Panchayet & Rural Development Officer	Member
8	Divisional Forest Officer	Member

After screening and short listing the nomination from the district the district-level committee will send the short listed nominations to the State Level Screening Committee (SLSC) chaired by the Secretary, Backward Classes Welfare Department.

All previous orders regarding constitution of DLSC stand cancelled.

Sd/-

Joint Secretary to the Government of West Bengal.

Page 2 of 2

No.643/1(111)-BCW

Kolkata, the 23rd February, 2010.

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:-

1)	The District Magistrate,
2)	The Sabhadhipati, Zilla Parishad,
	The P.Ocum-D.W.O./D.W.O., BCW
	The District Information & Cultural Officer,
5)	The District Youth Officer,
6)	The District Panchayet & Rural Development Officer,
7)	The Divisional Forest Officer,
8)	The Commissioner, BCW, West Bengal;
9)	The P.S. to M.I.C. / M.O.S. of this Department.

The copy of the revised scheme can be downloaded from the website-<u>www.tribal.gov.in</u>.

Joint Secretary

to the Government of West Bengal.