Registered No. WB/SC-247



Gazette

Kolkata

Extraordinary Published by Authority

FRIDAY, MARCH 24, 2017

[SAKA 1938

PART I-Orders and Notifications by the Governor of West Bengal, the High Court, Government Treasury, etc.

GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL

Department of Personnel & Administrative Reforms and e-Governance Administrative Reforms cell

No. 80/AR/O/2R-3/12

CHAITRA 3]

Dated the 24th March, 2017

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the power conferred by the Bengal Districts Act, 1836 (21 of 1836), read with the Bengal Districts Act, 1864 (Ben. Act IV of 1864) and sub-section 2 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973 (2 of 1974), and in cancellation of all previous notifications relating to the area included in the district of Burdwan and the boundaries thereof, the Governor is pleased hereby to create, with effect from the 7th day of April, 2017, two districts named as **Purba Bardhaman** and **Paschim Bardhaman** by dividing the existing district of Burdwan, the former with headquarters at Bardhaman and the latter having headquarters at Asansol respectively.

The Governor is further pleased to direct that with effect from the aforesaid date, the limits of the district of **Purba Bardhaman** shall include the local areas comprised in the sub-divisions and the police stations comprised in each such sub-division as shown in Schedule 'A' and the limit of the district of **Paschim Bardhaman** shall include the local areas comprised in each such sub-divisions and the Police Stations comprised in each such Sub-Division as shown in Schedule 'B'.

Schedule 'A'

Name of Sub-Division		Name of Police Station
1.	Bardhaman Sadar North	Burdwan, Bhatar, Ausgram, Galsi, Budbud
2.	Bardhaman Sadar South	Memari, Jamalpur, Raina, Madhabdihi, Khandaghosh
3.	Katwa	Katwa, Ketugram, Mangalkote
4.	Kalna	Kalna, Purbasthali, Monteswar, Nadanghat